Series Review: Imaginary Cat

ic1

The adorable web drama, Imaginary Cat, ended this week, which means no more furry cuddles for us viewers…which means I am now sad…Sooo, how ’bout a second season? *whips out puppy kitten eyes* I know you’re killing it in Remember right now, Seung Ho Oppa, but I wants more kitty kisses. =^・ェ・^=

My Thoughts

First of all, this is indeed a drama about a young man and his cat and how they heal each other’s wounds. So going in, that’s all I expected. What I didn’t expect was how unbelievably sweet, and at times, heartrending it turned out to be. I’m actually more of a dog person than a cat person, but what I loved about this drama was that Yoo Seung Ho and his cat Bok Gil were able to convey perfectly how special a relationship between a person and their pet can be. And it’s weird to say that he had great chemistry with his cat, but…well, yeah, he did. Their chemistry was off the charts.

ic2

So much so that Bok Gil felt more like a female lead than the actual female lead played by Jo Hye Jung. And I don’t blame it on Jo’s acting because though it was quite rocky in the beginning, she did improve. I think it was just the show’s intention to focus on Bok Gil and the idea that a guy doesn’t necessarily need a girlfriend for inspiration or happiness. However, though some might disagree, I still think Jo’s character Na Woo was vital for the show. After losing someone close to him, Seung Ho’s character Jong Hyeon shut himself out from the world. When he found Bok Gil as a kitten, he was able to find some sort of meaning again, but it was Na Woo that finally brought him back.

ic4

Could their romance have been done better? Oh yeah, big time. Their chemistry was fine and I believed that Na Woo had a major crush on him (I mean, who wouldn’t??) even though he was a jerk to her most of the time. And I could tell Jong Hyeon was often swayed and even touched by her, but once the show really started pushing their romance, I just didn’t buy it. I think Jong Hyeon needed more time getting rid of his inner demons and I understand we couldn’t get that, the show only being eight episodes and all. I really shouldn’t complain since the writers probably just wanted to give us something sweet and simple.

ic5

There were some intense moments, especially in other plotlines with the people around Jong Hyeon. My favorite was probably his competition with his former friend (Kim Hyun Joon) as a webtoon artist. This friend’s betrayal really hurt Jong Hyeon and I saw so much potential in this, but it kind of sizzled out. I know, I know… We can’t always get bromance on the level of Lee Jong Suk and Kim Woo Bin ala School 2013, but that drama left me with high standards, okay? Either way, Jong Hyeon’s relationships with his other friend (Kim Min Suk), Na Woo, and heck, even his weirdo boss at the bookstore all managed to keep me entertained. But let’s face it, the real star was Bok Gil, hands down. Just look at that picture above. The boy luuurves that cat.

ic6

Is it Worth Watching?

Absolutely. Where else can you see Yoo Seung Ho being a cutie patootie and using his buddy Bok Gil as a make-believe machine gun? My only advice is not to pick this up for the romance. Just enjoy it for what it is: a light drama meant to put a smile on your face. And trust me, it will.

Personal Rating: ★★★★☆ / Objective Rating: ★★★☆☆

About SailorJumun

Psh, who said you're too old to fangirl over fictional characters?
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

