Unfinished Business #2: Tears of Frustration & Tears of Boredom

16-08-28-01-25-00-508_deco

In my last Unfinished Business post, I talked about some older dramas that I never got around to finishing. This time, I’ll be going through the more recent dramas I’ve dropped, almost all of which I’ve shed tears for, but for all the wrong reasons.

Oh My Venus – I tried so damn hard to like this. And I couldn’t quite figure out why I couldn’t. The main couple was always bursting with chemistry, the side characters were lovable, and the laughs were fairly consistent. But, for some reason, I was so freaking bored. And it got more and more difficult to find the will to click onto the next episode. The fact of the matter is, the drama had all the right elements, but had too little plot to hold it all together.

One More Happy Ending – What… the hell… happened? I was totally on board after the hilarious premiere and then it gradually turned into the biggest tearfest I’ve seen since Nice Guy. What was with all the tears? Perhaps if our characters had stopped crying and acted on their goddamn feelings, we could’ve had more time for the wackiness that I fell for in the premiere. I thought Jung Kyung Ho‘s character was unbelievably sweet, but goodness, his loveline with Jang Na Ra was frustrating as HELL. My patience only goes so far, ya’ll.

Madame Antoine Sung Joon, sweetie, I’ve had to drop your last three projects, including this one. You need to make better choices.

UB-ma

Please Come Back, Mister – This drama was, uhhh… special. In a good way. It was crazy different and had a very brave sense of humor that could’ve been right up my alley. However, I don’t think I was in the mood for this kind of drama at the time. I knew I liked it because I was always cackling when reading the recaps, but I never got the urge to actually watch the episodes. Maybe I will later down the road?

Goodbye Mr. Black – Poor Mr. Black. Unfortunately, this was airing at the same time as Descendants of the Sun, and back then, DotS was all I could think about. Mr. Black seemed too boring in comparison, so I gave up on it after 3 or 4 episodes. After DotS finished with an ending that left me severely pissed (but that’s another story), I decided to give Mr. Black another chance. It was better than I’d originally thought, but it still failed to keep my interest.

Vampire Detective – Was actually pretty good. I was having an okay time until… I wasn’t. There came I time when I clicked on the next episode and I couldn’t remember what happened (maybe the one-episode-a-week thing was a bad idea) and I realized I didn’t particularly care.

UB-vd

Me Too, Flower! – I was having withdrawals after Mirror of the Witch ended and I needed some Yoon Shi Yoon back in my life. But I don’t think this was the right thing to watch. I got bored very quickly and ended up re-watching Flower Boy Next Door instead.

Doctors – I cannot believe I got as far as I did with this drama. Honestly, it’s all my mom’s fault because she wanted to watch it every week. I just… God, I don’t know what to say. The first few episodes felt like a great movie, and then the hospital story kicked in and it became as generic as the title. There were some wonderful patients we got to meet along the way, but it was so not worth those 15 hours I spent. I could suck it up and watch the last three episodes to make all those wasted hours count for something, but… urghhh. I really don’t want to. **Update: Decided to watch the last episodes after all, but as expected, nothing changed for me. At least I finished it?

Wanted – Now this, my mom refused to watch. After episode 5, she just turned to me and said, “No. Find something more fun.” And I was happy to oblige.

Uncontrollably Fond – I think this is a good drama. I really do. It’s just not for me. Early on, I could see I was in for a super depressing ride and *shrugs* I wasn’t down for that.

UB-uf

How do you feel about these dramas? Are there any you think I should try again?

About SailorJumun

Psh, who said you're too old to fangirl over fictional characters?
This entry was posted in Reviews, Up Close & Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

